Institutional Biosafety Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Research and Economic Development

The existence of an Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is required by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for research involving recombinant and synthetic nucleic acid molecules. Mississippi State University (MSU) has expanded the scope of the IBC to include oversight, administration and review of University policies and research involving any microorganism, biologic toxin, or other biologic material which may pose a threat to humans, animals, plants or the environment.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Andrews, Wes Community Member 2025
Baughman, Brittany Associate Clinical Professor, CVM Pathobiology and Population Medicine, Doctor of Veterinary Medicine 2024
Brooks, John USDA-ARS, Research Microbiologist 2026
Cobb, Nicole Assistant Director, Research Compliance and Security (non-voting) Ex-Officio
Echols, Jeff University Biosafety Officer Ex-Officio
Gordon, Donna Professor, Biological Sciences 2026
Jernigan, Curtis Community Member 2025
Jordan, Heather Associate Professor, Biological Sciences, Microbiologist Vice Chair 2024
Park, Nogi Research Scientist II, Department of Comparative Biomedical Sciences, Microbiology and Molecular Biology 2025
Pharr, G. Todd Associate Professor, CVM Comparative Biomedical Sciences, Immunology Chair 2025
Poe-Johnson, Katrina Executive Director, University Health Services, Medical Doctor 2024
Stilwell, Natalie Assistant Clinical Professor, CVM Pathobiology/Population Medicine Department 2027
Willeford, Bridget Laboratory Animal Veterinarian Ex-Officio
Willias, Stephen Associate Director, Office of Environmental Health and Safety (non-voting) Ex-Officio
Wubben, Martin Molecular Geneticist, USDA-ARS 2027